Chordate Phylum

All animals in the Chordate Phylum have backbones. They are also called "vertebrates." The Chordate Phylum is split into Classes. Several Classes are listed below:

Mammal Class: These animals usually have hair/fur. They give birth to live young and feed their young with milk. Mammals are warm-blooded. Includes: Rodents, Hoofed animals, Marsupials, Bats, Rabbits, Weasels, Raccoons, Bears, Dogs, and Cats.

Bird Class: This class is also called "Aves." Birds are warm-blooded. They have hollow bones and feathers. Most can fly at least short distances. Birds are born from hard-shelled eggs. Includes: Raptors, Gulls, Songbirds, and Fowl.

Amphibian Class: These animals have smooth skin, and most spend at least part of their life in water. Amphibians are cold-blooded. They usually have three life stages: egg, larva, adult. Includes: Frogs, Toads, Salamanders, and Newts.

Reptile Class: These animals have dry, scaly skin. They are cold-blooded. Most reptiles lay soft-shelled eggs, but some bear live young. Includes: Lizards, Snakes, Turtles, and Crocodiles.

Bony Fish Class: This class is also called "Osteichthyes." It includes almost all fish. Skeletons are made of mostly bone. Includes: Sunfish, Catfish, Minnows, Perch, Goldfish, and most others.

To learn more about each Class, click the links below:

Mammal Class
Bird Class
Amphibian Class
Reptile Class
Bony Fish Class

Back to Classification Page


Organism Menu
Student Activities
Classification Info
How to Use This Site